Why in the world do I feel the need to wear a dress

Image

“The First Question, the oldest question in the Universe, that must never be answered, hidden in plain sight”

Sorry,  I have been watching a lot of Doctor Who lately and though I would throw that reference in there.  But seriously why do I feel the need to dress as a Woman.  The answer to this question has eluded me through all my searching.  Some references I have found are a Wiki page here and another article found here.

The second article says “Men who cross-dress are not mentally ill. Indeed, psychologists in the USA have decided that cross-dressing comes within the normal range of male sexuality unless it becomes a compulsive obsession” but that does not explain why I want to do it.

Is there some thing cross wired (no pun intended) in my brain that drives me to this or some other external influences that have re-wired my brain into it’s current state.  I can’t say this has anything to do with my parents as my childhood would be explained as pretty much late 70’s child standard.  No internet, bike helmets or safety approved toys were the standard for kids of my generation.  I did not have any influence that I know of in childhood that would take a normal(ish) boy and make him want to wear a dress.

I am pretty sure is started when I was about 7 or 8 years old which would have put me in around the grade 3 area.  I some how doubt there is a connection but also at that time I was also diagnosed with a learning disability.  Just the act of trying to write this blog makes my brain hurt getting the info from my head into the computer.  Pretty sure a learning disability can’t drive me to dressing but I added it none the less.

At this point in life I know I will never know why I do it but I have at least accepted it and come to a slight sense of peace with myself.  My wife does accept this is who I am and although at times it has caused various amounts of friction between us we have come to a nice balance at this time.  As stated in the second article stress does play a very high role in my dressing.  There have been points when I have not had a urge to dress for up to 2 years at a time but is seems lately stress level have been at almost through the roof levels.

Thanks for reading yet another rambling on blog

Cynthia

Image taken from Penningtons,  Great plus size clothing store.

8 thoughts on “Why in the world do I feel the need to wear a dress

  1. We have a lot in common, dear Cynthia. I found myself nodding and thinking “yep, been there!” Puts a smile on my face. I look forward to reading more in the future.

    1. Those blogs seem to be about quitting Cross Dressing. Maybe it was my terrible writing but my question I had posed to myself is what makes me want to do this in a scientific way. I have accepted this is what I am and what I will do and am happy, but I still want to know why.

      1. Yes I know. But even though they are about quitting cross dressing, they analyze the motivations very thoroughly, and even if you don’t personally want to quit crossdressing, you might find their analyzation findings very interesting and thought provoking.

  2. I think that many of us go through periods when we really want to find out the reason why we liike to dress as women. surely there is a level of ill-logic. I can attest that dressing puts me at ease. I can devolve into a kinder, gentler, less stress, more cooperative person. I can shed my male personna and duties (work, doing stuff, paying taxes, etc.
    I have had some fascinating thoughts about a lot that has been published about in utero exposure to stress and hormones. I know that I was a DES baby. My mother had 3 miscarriages and during her pregnancy with me she was highly stressed, confinced to bed and apartment most of the time and treated with high doses of estrogen…most likely DES. As a younger man people would ask if I shaved my legs. I do like to shave my legs but only do it once every few years. I have virtually no hair on my arms, back or chest. I have two younger brothers who can both grow a mustache and a beard. I cannot. If I do not shave my face no one will notice until about the 3rd day.
    At this point I am rather at peace with my cross dressing. My wife is fairly blase’ if I am dressed around the house. She does not like me to go out while dressed and she fears that others may find out about my dressing. She does think that I have too many clothes and shoes and she is correct but I have trouble thinning the wardrobe.
    I just started to read your blog and have been reading it from oldest post backwards and will comment from time to time. Good luck and be thankful for your wonderful bride.
    Pat

Leave a Reply

