Canadian Content

cancon

While surfing online recently I came across a new Company that I I had never heard of before.  Upon further inspection it turns out this company is Canadian owned.  Of course I had to do some more digging find about a bit more.

cn296801-2t_1024x1024
The Charchar

Unless you you are a size 10 in Canada you will know most plus size fashions store in Canada can be very pricey.  I am a avid shopper at Addition Elle and Penningtons but I usually only buy  when they have sales on due to the sometimes steep prices.  A nice dress at either of the aforementioned places can be anywhere from $80.00 and up.

Hip and Curvy sells plus sized fashions for a really decent price and has many different styles from Maxi Dresses and Rompers to Skater dresses and Blouses.  There seems to be a style for almost anyone who is looking for trendy and reasonably priced Curvy Clothes.  I picked out my 2 faves and posted them below,  The Jamie and The Karly

Like I always do when I find a new place to shop I contacted the owner and ask if they are CD/TG Friendly and ask permission to do a blog post about their product.  Business owner Jennifer was quick to email me back and stated she has sold clothes to Crossdressers on a few occasions.  I decided to do a little bit of a interview and spotlight some of the fashions she sells.  Her website can be found at Hip and Curvy

1: What was the main reason you decided to get into Curvy Clothes?

d8872x-c_1024x1024
The Jamie

I have been plus size since i hit puberty. At my slimmest I was a size 14. I always struggled finding trendy clothes that I could afford. Thus, Hip and Curvy was born. I want all curvy women to wear clothes that they feel GREAT in; confident in. Just because I am fat, doesn’t mean I should have to wear ugly clothes.

2: Do you prefer “Curvy” over “Plus Size”

I am so comfortable with myself that it doesn’t matter what you call me. I am fat. I am a size 20 and I have lots of fat, however, I look fabulous! I think that once you are comfortable with who you are, it doesn’t matter what someone wants to refer to you as.

3: Do you do the designs yourself?

I do not design the clothes myself, but I select all of the styles personally. I select items that I feel are flattering for curvy women!

d8881x-a_1024x1024
The Karly

4: Do you just ship in Canada or Internationally?

At the moment, I am targeting a Canadian audience because there is more access to plus size clothing in the United States. However, I am open to shipping internationally if needed!

5: What do you think is most important when picking out a new dress?

I think the most important thing when picking out a new dress is finding the right color for your complexion. TRY THINGS ON! TRY NEW THINGS!!!! Finding a dress that fits your curves is important as well. If you don’t have a waist, buy something that makes it look like you have a waist (Empire is usually best for this). Depending on the occasion, when appropriate, show a bit of cleavage!

6: Where would you like to see your business in 5 years?

In 5 years, I would like to be designing the clothes myself and having my designs manufactured. In order to do this, I have to build up my clientelle, which is happening now.

1442252577622-p-3111033_1024x1024
The Nikki

I would like to thank Jennifer for taking time out to answer my questions and I am hoping at some point I will be able to order a piece from her.

Thanks For Reading

Cynthia

2 thoughts on “Canadian Content

Leave a Reply

