Fashion Upgrade

fashion_upgrade

Summer is almost over and Fall will soon be upon us,  it will soon be time to break out the Razor and  nail polish and get ready for this dressing season.

This summer seemed to go by like a flash,  A very hot and dry flash.  But at the end of Summer comes the end of season sales and this year I had the time and money so I figured it was time to update my wardrobe.  I have had hand me downs and thrift store buys for far too long and it was time to upgrade and scratch some things off the list I had wanted for awhile.

The first store I was prompted by with summer sales was Penningtons which is a Canadian store owned by the same parent company as Penningtons

dsc03551_zpssrxzhwtt
Short Sleeve Crochet Dress Front

I get emails from the company when they have deals or sales and I was prompted about a 50% off sale about mid July.  Scanning the website I came across the Short Sleeve Crochet dress to the left and I love lace so it seemed like a great match.

The Penningtons website description read as “Revamp your dress code in this stylish plus-size dress! It has a rounded neck, keyhole opening at back, short sleeves, a lovely patterned crochet overlay with stretchy knit lining and soft chiffon insert at back, as well as an elastic waistband. It offers a flowing, flattering fit with a high-low hem. Complete the look with heels!

dsc03552_zpsn3hsvbik

I picked up the Dress in Black and Wild Aster

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

dsc03556_zpsipiwlq7cdsc03554_zpsbkhpr1gy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was also able to pick up a nice lace skirt as well.  The web site described it as “Add a feminine touch to your work wardrobe with this pretty plus-size dress! It features a comfortable pull-on waistband, hidden zipper at side, 100% cotton patterned lace top layer and stretchy knit lining underneath. Team it with a blouse for a fabulous office look!

dsc03564_zps2pmqmi8v

I also needed some new tops to go along with the new skirt so I picked up a couple.

dsc03531_zpsl4dhtwgldsc03535_zpsa3qigs6v

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had to pick up just one more dress though as my closet is sorely lacking them and I found another short sleeved lace dress.

dsc03536_zpsrcymzpxvdsc03538_zpspudcpclj

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To top it all off I picked up some necklaces for the new outfits.

dsc03454_zpsxrfuxwz7

dsc03455_zpssktcdzsn

 

 

 

 

 

 

After Penningtons it was sale time at Addition Elle also with a 50% off.   By the time the wife got there though the sale rack had been pretty much picked through.  I did find a nice new top that would work well with lots of my other skirts.

dsc03533_zpsva7efcmj

 

I also picked up a couple of new bras as well

dsc03548_zpsmaxtp8hy

Both are from the Ashley Graham Collection.  The black one is the Dreamer Fatal Attraction Unlined Bra.  Addition Elle website reads “Enjoy this unlined Ashley Graham bra with natural shaping that doesn’t add a size. The Fatal Attraction plus size bra combines unlined lace and mesh in a two layer cup with contrast trim, while creating the perfect fit with a sexy peek a boo effect. Double straps suggest a naughty bondage look. Opt for a halter neckline to mix things up. The triple strip at back wing (hook & eye) creates a modern caged look. A perfect match for the Retro Brief, this sizzling bra with pearl, sparkle and bow detail is a sophisticated item for the bride to be’s collection“.

dsc03434_zpseudnshd2

The back straps on this bra can be removed and re-ordered into a criss cross patterns for a sharper look.  Although I have tried to put it on in this configuration and cannot get into it.

dsc03547_zpsfyfdksmo

The second bra was lined cup bra in a light pink tone called Ballet. “This sexy Ashley Graham bra is lightly padded for full support without bulk. Trimmed at the cups and center gore with scalloped eyelash lace. Straps and wings are kissed with delicate crown picot elastic. Wear this plus size bra with a matching Ashley Graham panty!

I did pick up the matching underwear for both bra’s only issue was I was not paying attention and ended up with thongs.  I have never worn a thong before and it was definitely a new experience but not as bad as I thought it would be.

 

Years ago I bought a pair of heels from a thrift shop,  not the best looking in the world but they worked for me and helped me with learning how to walk in heels.  Over the years they have worn out so bad and at one point I fell in them causing a rip in the side.  It was finally time to take the plunge and get myself a nice new pair of heels so off to Payless shoes which as far as I know is the only local store we have in town that sells heels in a size 12.

With the Payless Bogo sale I was able to get a decent black pair of heels and a second pair for the low price of about $7.00,  not a bad deal I think.  The plaid one should pair nice with the skirt or any of the 3 dresses and black goes with anything.

dsc03620_zpswlhwvacc

dsc03622_zpsvoikzotp

My final sale purchase is also met with a bit of sadness.  Sally Beauty Supply  is where I have been picking up my fake nails and stickers that hold the nails on,  I had them in another post way back called Hard as Nails.  As it turns out Sally Beauty will no longer be stocking the tip stickers and there will be no replacement.  When I found this out via twitter I almost ran to the local store and picked up every last pack they had and 2 more boxes of nails.  For good measure I picked up 5 new polishes.

dsc03627_zps0motwkmldsc03630_zpspzpdwfxf

I really like the Nina Ultra Pro nail polishes.  The coverage is great and the brushes are huge compared to other brands I have tried.

The colors from left to right are:

  1. Plum of the Earth
  2. French Roast
  3. Happily Ever After
  4. Ruby Road
  5. Glistening Plum

I would like to thank my wife for putting up with me and letting me drag her around to all these store to pick up all the new clothes.

If you have made it this far I thank you for reading and hope you enjoyed.

Thanks

Cynthia

 

Leave a Reply

