Cynthia’s 2016 in Review

 

2016_review

Another year is almost at a close and this year has brought some new things for Myself.  Just thought before the year was over I would review some of these things.

Telling the Kid

I had posted it before here about my child telling us that they identify as non-binary or gender fluid.  We do not use She or He but instead use Them and They.  We have joined a local group for parents of Transgender Children which is kinda weird going to because of my own Crossdressing.

The wife and I decided that we should tell the Child because it may help her knowing that she was not the only one in her family who at one point had similar issues.  It seemed to go okay with he just saying that’s cool.  I did get some questions like do you own dresses, do you have bra’s and so on and so forth.

We got them a appointment with a counselor about the gender stuff and other issues she was.  We made it clear to her she was able to talk about anything she wanted and it came to light that she had wished we had never told her.  This is a evolving situation and for the most part I have backed off saying anything about.  The one good thing that came from the situation though is now I don’t have to hide my painted toe nails anymore.

I had a huge blog post planned for this but seeing as the situation is still ongoing I will wait and then give you the full story.

Buying Stuff

It was a few years ago now that I finally was able to shop for stuff by myself.  I started by picking up small stuff at the drug store, Razors, Panty hose and the likes and then finally moved up to clothes.  My first trip to Addition Elle by myself I am sure I was 10 shades of red more than normal.  With my list in hand and my cover story of it was for my wife I picked up my first few items.  I was floating higher than a kite after that trip and that fully opened the door.

Now I have no issues walking into either Addition Elle of Penningtons (My 2 favorite stores) and just grabbing whatever I want and heading to the cash.  In my opinion the best invention for a Crossdresser shopping has been the cell phone.  I am able to open the web page and just ask the sales associate if this is in stock,  makes the purchase way easier.

But up to this point I have still not ventured to purchase my current enemy,  MAKE UP.  That was until about 3 months ago.  I am still having a ongoing battle with finding the right shade of foundation to use and to this point I still am.  While scanning the local drug store chain flyer I found the product I wanted was on sale but only for 2 days this being day one.  So next day off to the drug store which at the time was pretty busy and made me a bit nervous but I went on.  I had to make sure the aisle was clear before I entered and made my way down to the Foundations.  Just like every time I go to buy make up the shelves look like a tornado had hit and nothing was where it was supposed to be and I had to search almost every bottle to find the color I was looking for.  I found them and headed picked up a couple other small things and headed for the cash.  The line was not long and I ended up at the cashier pretty quickly.  I put my stuff on the counter and put the foundation out last,  as she grabbed each item and scanned them through.  I was sure I would get a second look as she rang through the foundation but her head never looked up from her task as she placed the foundations in the bag and I was met with no odd looks just the obligatory “Will that be cash or credit”.

Another mission  crossed off the list and since then I have been back and bought more without still finding the right color.  Seems I am doomed to look patchy and off color forever.

I am still not comfortable with letting most people know about this side of me but I am to the point where I am not going to let the fear I felt for so long stop me from doing what I want to anymore.

Overall and 2017

Other than all the other things that went on in the world 2016 was not a bad year for me.  My little space here on the internet turned 3 years old and I am still amazed myself that I have kept it up this long.

I still have a ton of stuff I can do for Cynthia’s Lingerie Drawer it’s just a matter of having time to sit down and write them.

And to all my readers have a safe and Happy New Years and here’s to seeing and reading all your blogs in the future.

Thanks for reading

Cynthia

 

One thought on “Cynthia’s 2016 in Review

Leave a Reply

